RSS

8500ft Above

23 May

image

May 23, 2011

I was told that 8500ft was the height that rain freezes. Why is this important? Because ice is yummy.

If you live in the Lower Mainland region of British Columbia, you probably know about the Richmond night market. I for one am not a big fan of it. The food is over priced and often not as good as I expect it to be. This is coming from a person born in Taiwan, where some of the best night market food comes from. That being said, I haven’t been back for 6 years and will take what I can get. The food this year was just as expensive, but there are a few stalls worth trying out. In particular is the 8500ft flavoured ice. I am not saying this just because friends of mine owns and operates this stall, but simply because, it’s damn good.

Those not so familiar with flavoured ice maybe hesitant to try it, but I assure you, it’s better than ice cream. It’s refreshing and flavourful. No heavy creamy taste to gross you out after a few licks.  Unlike the traditional shaved ice we normally get in a lot of Asian food courts, this type of ice (for the sake of differentiating, let’s call it frappe ice) is more powder snow like. The texture of it is almost cottony, and melts in your mouth.

If you know about the Frappe Bliss store in the food court of Aberdeen Centre in Richmond, and love that place, you’ll be happy to know that 8500ft uses the exact same ice. So why should you go to the night market instead of Aberdeen? Cuz its cheaper of course! Plus it opens later.

In general they have three flavours to pick from, of course you can omit things that you do not wish to have.

So the most popular is the “Fruit Basket” which has mango ice with fruits (not sure what kind exactly). This is probably one of the normal sounding ones that less adventurous people would be willing to try.Does it not look yummy?? (that’s not my hand by the way)

The other options are the macha ice with red bean, condensed milk, lychee, and coconut jelly. I tried this one with a milk ice sub in, because I am not a big fan of macha anything. Unfortunately I did not take a picture of that, so here’s a picture of the picture they have at the stall.

image

I have to admit that it may look strange and unappetizing to people not familiar with the toppings and ice. But I assure you it is good.

The next option is the Egg Roll (I dont remember the names of these things). Which has milk ice with crushed egg rolls (the Chinese tube shaped cookies), roasted peanuts, sesame sauce, and peanut sauce. I tried this one without the roasted peanuts, as I had a bad experience with them, and am of the firm belief that roasted peanuts should not appear on ice (LOL)

imageSo this is my version, without the peanuts (and half eaten)

imageTheir version, with the peanuts. This is probably the one I liked the least. I think the best one is still the red bean with the sub in of milk ice. That’s more traditional style shaved ice from Taiwan, and fits my palate the best.

Of course, if you would just like the ice, they are more than happy to give you a bowl without toppings, just ask.

I also think it’s worth mentioning that they lugged the shaved ice machine from Taiwan, so it’s authentic shaved ice.

image

So if you are planning to drop by the night market this year, give them a try, they won’t disappoint.

8500ft Shaved ice on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2011 in Nom Nom Nom, Out of the house

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

