RSS

[mise en scene] – Hair Mask Treatment

30 Sep

IMG_20170917_201249.jpg Hi peeps! So, a friend gave me a couple of these and I thought I’d review it. I honestly am not even sure of the name of this thing, I just know it is a hair mask treatment, because every thing is written in Korean. While I did live in Korea for a year, I wasn’t very self disciplined with self-teaching Korean. I got through the parts of roughly knowing what each character is suppose to sound like, and that’s about it (LOL). So I did a bit of google search, and found someone selling this online. The instructions are as below:

“After shower, towel dry and apply hair pack onto hair evenly.
After hot oil use steam hair mask cap and massage oil to absorb.
Use sticker to fix hair pack.
After 5~15 minutes remove cap and rinse off with lukewarm water.” (source)

img_20170917_201257.jpg

I know it’s sorta poor English, but at least I can understand most of it.

So a little background on my current hair situation. I have fairly fine hair and for an Asian, not a lot of it. My current hair has been dyed twice and permed twice, so it’s pretty damaged to say the least. The hair stylist that permed my hair had to do it twice, because he said the first time wouldn’t take, as my hair was too healthy. I am sure that’s not the case right now. If I don’t take care of my hair the ends do feel very dry, but my hair has never been brittle. Now on with the review.

When I was reading the instructions I didn’t understand what the “sticker” is suppose to be in order to “fix hair pack.” I was perplexed. So I googled some more and found a YouTube video of someone using it, and finally understood what the sticker was suppose to be.

below is the picture of the “hair pack” (which looks like a really cheap shower cap) The tab circled in red has a peel off plastic part and you can then tighten the cap to fit your head.

17-09-17-20-48-33-699_deco.jpg

The consistency of the hair cream is really thick. It has a fairly heavy smell to it, but I can’t quite put my finger on exactly what it is. It doesn’t smell terrible or anything, and is a floral scent.

img_20170917_203328.jpg

So as per the instruction, you are to rub this cream on your hair evenly, then wear the cap over your head and massage. After 5 to 15 mins rinse off and style as per normal.

Here’s what the cap looks like over my head. The YouTuber had a bit of an issue putting it on. I just gathered my hair and did a little bun on top of my head and slid the cap over it, but when I was massaging, the hair kept trying to escape. User friendliness is definitely a down fall for this product.

IMG_20170917_204009.jpg

To conclude…

Properties:

from this ebay seller this mask is suppose to repair extremely damaged hair. It has 7 natural oils: argan, camellia, coconut, apricot, marula, jojoba, and olive oil. It’s suppose to be like going to a hair salon and getting an expensive treatment. (it should be noted here that the seller’s item pictures “perfect serum” but the title says “perfect repair”; the one I used says perfect repair on the packaging)

Price:

I didn’t buy this product, but it seems like it’s in the $15 to $30 USD range on ebay depending on how many you purchase.

Scent:

heavy floral scent, would definitely stay away if scent is a big issue for you. That being said it doesn’t really stay on your hair after you rinse it off.

and of course, like most Korean branded products it is made in Korea.

Results:

I left it on for a lot longer than it suggested (about 45mins), I do this with most of my face masks too because I just feel like it’s such a waste!

I like the fact that when it washed off it didn’t feel slippery, but I can still run my fingers through with easy. Most hair masks or conditioners will feel slippery when rinsing off, kind of gives you a sense of you hair being smooth and healthy, but it really is just the silicone in the product that’s giving you that fake sense of healthiness. After blow drying my hair, it’s shinny, still has a bit of fuzz, but the ends feels very smooth. My hair in general feels like there’s a layer of oil covering it, but not in a gross way. The mask didn’t weigh down my hair like most masks or conditioners will do. I don’t have much volume, but it allowed for me to keep the little volume I could have. Overall, I am pretty impressed with the results. I suspect if I had the time and money to use this at least once a week it would help my hair a lot more than just the one time.

Overall score: 4.5/5 I am taking away 0.5 for the user unfriendliness of the product, but in general I am pretty impressed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 30, 2017 in All Things Prettified!, Randoms, Skin Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment