RSS

[Epic Travel] Kenting, Taiwan

08 Jun

 

20130311_165801

Hi peeps! Sorry for being MIA for a few months. It’s been a bit insane at work, and I started a class for work, on top of all that I just moved to our new home too! It’s just been a crazy few months… I think I need a vacation!! Since I can’t really go on any vacations at the moment, I’ll have to settle for reminiscing my past vacations…the destination this time is Kenting.

Kenting is a national park in the county of Pingtung, at the edge of Southern Taiwan. It is known for it’s beautiful beaches, and crazy hot weather! (though Taiwan as a whole is pretty hot anyways).

Due to our big boo boo in planning the begin of this trip (see Hualien, Taiwan) we had to back track from Chayi back to Kaohsiung then take a bus down to Kenting, as our hotels and hostels were all booked. With some connections, I was able to book a resort hotel for Kenting (way to be backpackers!) for cheap. It was the cheapest place we booked for our entire trip, the two nights only cost us $2500NT (around $83CND). Yes for the TWO of us and for TWO nights! And look at the size of that bed!!

20130311_194652

I wasn’t the one that made the actual reservations, so I guess they thought there was going to be 4 of us, but it was just the two of us, so we got, what I can only assume, a king size bed each. The trip to go from Chayi all the way down to Kenting took pretty much the entire day. Plus we woke up at 3am for the Alisan sun rise, we were pooped when we got there. We filled out stomach with mediocre food, showered and went straight to rolling in the king size bed.

Mediocre food from the resort’s restaurant.
20130311_200649

20130311_200825

The hotel itself was a bit far off from all the tourist attractions, including the Eluanbi lighthouse and Baishawan beach (literally translated as White Sand Beach). I remember going to both and they were a beaut! But since we were travelling via rail and bus, it wasn’t exactly easy for us to get to these places. We decided when in Rome (resort) do what Romans (resort guests) do! VEG!

The resort itself was quite beautiful, it had a few water pool areas…
20130312_180941

But I think the best part was it’s back yard.
20130312_121610

That’s right! A beach of their own. Except no sand was involved in this one, just full of rocks. I climbed my way up to where the water was and pretty much ruined my flip-flops, but totally worth it!
20130312_121717

Just hanging around on a hammock no big deal
20130312_124117 20130312_130843

The water was clear, the smell of the ocean was salty and fresh, I had a hell of a time just sitting in the sun doing absolutely nothing!

My travel buddy however, couldn’t just do nothing, so she went venturing outside the resort and found this little gem. It’s a little organic farm just across from the resort.
20130312_174238

They had a little coffee shop. She came back and got me off the king size bed, saying there’s a great view of the beach from the cafe. I followed her suit. The little coffee shop had the friendliest people. Their drinks were quite pricey, but they explained the money was basically used to sustain the operation of the farm. I ordered a lemon green tea, and was told there were no lemons left by the girl taking my order. The other guy quickly popped his head in and said “I’ll go get some!” before I could say “that’s ok” he shot off towards their lemon tree, and came back with a lemon in hand. 20130312_174758

 

The cafe closed at 6pm, but they let us sat around and waited for the sun set. So in a single day, we saw the sun rise in the mountains, and then saw it set by the beaches. It turned out to be a great day.
IMG_3142

Our next stop…Nantou!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 8, 2014 in Epic Travel, Out of the house

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
